What is
Common Core Mathematics: Practice at 3 Levels?

How can teachers successfully scaffold students up from full on-page support, to minimal support, and then to on-grade-level competency in math? With award-winning Common Core Mathematics: Practice at 3 Levels. This series contains six grade-specific titles for Grades 1-6, and each book provides math activities with three levels of support to accommodate diverse learners.

These resources align to Common Core State Standards (CCSS) and meet National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTS) standards.

The series can be used in mainstream classrooms, resource rooms, pull-out intervention settings, and after-school programs, and at home.

Why is
Common Core Mathematics: Practice at 3 Levels unique?

There are no other grade-specific teacher resource books that cover Common Core Math Standards, following a gradual release of responsibility model with differentiated levels of support. This allows struggling learners to progress gradually to on-grade-level competency.

Instead of “making the math easier,” these books scaffold instruction by providing varying levels of visual support so that students of all levels will graduate up to on-grade-level math competency.

Teachers are being asked to incorporate these standards into their lesson, plans and this series offers a fast, easy, top-notch, and effective solution.

What are the features and benefits of
Common Core Mathematics: Practice at 3 Levels?

F: Six 144- to 160-page books.

B: Easy to reproduce; support to last all year.

F: Aligned to CCSS at each grade level.

B: Easy for teachers to prepare and document that students are meeting standards’ requirements.

F: Scaffold practice with full on-page support, then minimal support, then on-grade-level practice.

B: Students will be scaffolded up to on-grade level competency in math.

F: Instant mini-lessons before each set of practice pages model the skill.

B: Mini-lessons ensure students understand key concepts and are prepared for diminishing levels of support.

F: Assessments placed conveniently for quick, on-the-fly assessment.

B: Monitor progress and target problem areas with assessments for every unit.

F: Word problems for every standard.

B: Help students learn to combine their computation skills with their critical thinking and comprehension skills; increase math literacy and standardized test success.

F: A bonus critical-thinking question or prompt appears on each practice page.

B: Students practice answering How do you know?, showing thought process and demonstrating understanding of the concept.

What is included in
Common Core Mathematics: Practice at 3 Levels?

Each book in this series has from 144-160 pages with:

  • Instant mini-lessons
  • On-the-fly assessments
  • Scaffolded computation practice
  • Word problems for every standard

Standards covered in Grades 1—6 include:

  • Operations & algebraic thinking
  • Number & operations in base ten
  • Number & operations—fractions
  • Measurement & data
  • Geometry
  • Mathematical practices
  • Rations & proportional relationships
  • The number system
  • Expressions & equations
  • Statistics & probability

What are
Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core State Standards are an initiative by states to establish shared, consistent, and clear expectations of what students are expected to learn. The standards are meant to help teachers and parents know what they need to do to help students.

The CCSS are designed to be rigorous and pertinent to the real world. They reflect the knowledge and skills that young people will eventually need for success in college and in the workforce.

What do the Common Core State Standards say specifically about math?

The CCSS sets forth the following expectations for math:

  • Make sense of problems and persevere in solving them.
  • Reason abstractly and quantitatively.
  • Construct viable arguments and critique the reasoning of others.
  • Model with mathematics.
  • Use appropriate tools strategically.
  • Attend to precision.
  • Look for and make use of structure.
  • Look for and express regularity in repeated reasoning.

What is the goal of the CCSS?

The goal of the CCSS is to facilitate the following student competencies. Students should:

  • Demonstrate independence.
  • Build strong content knowledge.
  • Respond to the varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline.
  • Comprehend as well as critique.
  • Value evidence.
  • Use technology and digital media strategically and capably.
  • Come to understand other perspectives and cultures.

What do the CCSS mean for you?

If your state has joined the Common Core State Standards Initiative, you must incorporate these standards into lesson plans. Your students may need targeted practice in order to meet grade-level standards and expectations, and thereby be promoted to the next grade.

To see if your state has joined the initiative, visit CoreStandards.org.

Recommended Products

Common Core Mathematics: Practice at 3 Levels: Quick, Easy & Effective!

Pricing Information

Mathematics Complete Set

(1 copy of 6 titles)



Individual Copies
$21.99 each

Grade 1 WS-NL1304
Grade 2 WS-NL1305
Grade 3 WS-NL1306
Grade 4 WS-NL1307
Grade 5 WS-NL1308
Grade 6 WS-NL1309