Why do teachers need
Common Core Comprehension: Practice at 3 Levels?

How can teachers successfully scaffold students’ reading comprehension skills up from lower reading level passages to on-grade-level passages? With award-winning Common Core Comprehension: Practice at 3 Levels. This series contains six grade-specific titles for Grades 1-6, and each book provides comprehension activities with three levels of support to accommodate diverse learners.

Why is
Common Core Comprehension: Practice at 3 Levels unique?

This series is unique because there are no other grade-specific teacher resource books that cover Common Core State Standards in English Language Arts with differentiated text passages AND include mini-lessons, practice AND assessment in one book!

Leveled passages help struggling readers progress gradually to on-grade-level reading comprehension. Teachers are being asked to incorporate these standards into their lesson plans and this series offers a fast, easy, top-notch, and effective solution.

What are the features and benefits of
Common Core Comprehension: Practice at 3 Levels?

F: Six 136-page reproducible books.

B: Easy to reproduce; support to last all year.

F: Aligned to CCSS at each grade level.

B: Easy for teachers to prepare and document that students are meeting CCSS.

F: Students start with a lower-level passage and move on to the on-grade-level when ready.

B: Students can practice comprehension at their level and scaffold up to on-grade-level competency.

F: Instant mini-lessons with specifics on genre, purpose, audience, and examples of text types found in real life.

B: Quick, easy way to introduce genres required by CCSS.

F: Reproducible graphic organizers for every unit.

B: Supports different types of learners with a variety of teaching tools.

F: Research-based, text-dependent comprehension questions after each set of passages.

B: Identical text-dependent and critical thinking questions to support CCSS; makes assessment and grading easier.

F: Passage questions progress in difficulty and are identical regardless of student reading level.

B: All learners can answer same questions, just as they are required on standardized tests.

F: Includes rich narrative, content-area informational and persuasive texts.

B: Exposes students to all 3 major text types required by CCSS.

F: Grade-level, boldfaced vocabulary studied in context.

B: Supports CCSS for vocabulary practice.

What is included in
Common Core Comprehension: Practice at 3 Levels?

Each book in this series has 130+ pages of differentiated instruction to ensure all students meet CCSS. Included in each book are:

  • Instant genre mini-lessons
  • Reading passages at 3 levels
  • Narrative, informational, and opinion texts
  • Text-dependent questions

Students meet CCSS as they read across text types and genres including:

  • Fables
  • Folktales
  • Myths & Legends
  • Personal Narratives
  • Informational Science
  • Informational Social Studies
  • Advertisements
  • Reviews
  • Persuasive Letters
  • Speeches

In what instructional settings can this book be used?

This series contains six grade-specific titles for grades 1-6 that can be used for on-grade-level students in whole-group settings as well as for small-group or one-on-one settings that target intervention, English language learners, struggling readers, and special needs students.

What are
Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are an initiative by states to establish shared, consistent, and clear expectations of what students are expected to learn. The standards are meant to help teachers and parents know what they need to do to help students.

The CCSS are designed to be rigorous and pertinent to the real world. They reflect the knowledge and skills that young people will eventually need for success in college and in the workforce.

What is the goal of the CCSS?

The goal of the CCSS is to facilitate the following student competencies. Students should:

  • Demonstrate independence
  • Build strong content knowledge
  • Respond to the varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline
  • Comprehend as well as critique
  • Value evidence
  • Use technology and digital media strategically and capably
  • Come to understand other perspectives and cultures.

What does the CCSS mean for you?

If your state has joined the Common Core State Standards Initiative, you must incorporate these standards into lesson plans. Your students may need targeted practice in order to meet grade-level standards and expectations, and thereby be promoted to the next grade.

To see if your state has joined the initiative, visit CoreStandards.org.

What does CCSS says specifically about reading?

The CCSS sets forth the following expectations for reading:

  • Students must read a “staircase” of increasingly complex texts to eventually be ready for college or career-level reading.
  • Students must read a diverse array of classic and contemporary literature from around the world, as well as challenging informational texts in a range of subjects.
  • Students must show a “steadily growing ability” to comprehend, analyze, and respond critically to three main text types: Argument/Opinion, Informational, and Narrative.

Recommended Products

Common Core Comprehension: Practice at 3 Levels: Quick, Easy & Effective!

Pricing Information

Comprehension Complete Set

(1 copy of 6 titles)



Individual Copies
$21.99 each

Grade 1 WS-NL1298
Grade 2 WS-NL1299
Grade 3 WS-NL1300
Grade 4 WS-NL1301
Grade 5 WS-NL1302
Grade 6 WS-NL1303